NRWA: National Résumé Writers Association
Log in


Recognizing Outstanding Achievement in Résumés (ROAR) Annual Competition

Submissions for the 2021 ROAR writing competition are now being accepted.

ROAR—Recognizing Outstanding Achievement in Resumes—began in 2015 to recognize outstanding writing and creativity in the field of resume writing. It has grown to be an industry standard for excellence. All NRWA members are eligible to submit their work for consideration.

Winners will receive:

    • One-year membership renewal in the NRWA for each winning entry (maximum of two years).
    • Formal recognition at the 2021 Conference
    • Promotional exposure through the NRWA newsletter, website, national press release, and social media.

2021 ROAR - Recognizing Outstanding Achievement in Resumes

Registration is now open and entries will be accepted through midnight, PT, July 18, 2021.


  • New Graduate/Entry-Level Position (Category Code: NEW)
  • Tradesperson (Category Code: TRADE)
  • Professional (Category Code: PROF)
  • Middle Manager (Category Code: MM)
  • Executive (Category Code: EXEC)
  • Military transition (Category Code: MILI)
  • Return to work after a break of more than three years. (Category Code: RTW)
  • Fictional Client (Details of fictional client at this link) (Category Code: FICT)

Judging Criteria:

Each entry will be scored and assigned a point value based on the following criteria:

    • Positioning, strategy, and creativity (15 points) *
    • Layout, design/format, and readability for both the human reader and the computer/ATS reader (20 points)*
    • Keyword optimization for the target (15 points) *
    • Technical writing accuracy and grammar (30 points) *
    • Value/sales focus with specific accomplishments (20 points) *

Resumes that receive a cumulative score of 85 or higher will be considered for an award.

*Refer to The NCRW Study Guide for resume-writing concepts and best practices
and The Gregg Reference Manual for grammar/composition rules.

How to Submit a Resume

  • Entries must be submitted in PDF format and an original Word document.
  • Only one submission per category is allowed.
  • Entry file names must be in the following format:
Example: ROAR2021_EXEC_Doe_Jane_Mickey_Mouse.pdf AND ROAR2021_EXEC_Doe_Jane_Mickey_Mouse.doc
  • Each entry must be one continuous document that includes the resume, followed by a page break and a paragraph on the final page that explains our strategy for development.
  • Client names, addresses, and company information must be fictionalized.

By submitting entries to this contest, you agree to the following rules:

      • Entrants must be NRWA members in good standing.
      • Contestants may enter one resume per category.
      • Resumes that have won other contests do not qualify for this competition.
      • By submitting an entry, contestants agree that their resume submissions will be published at NRWA discretion (e.g., website, e-book).
      • Decisions of the judging committee will be final.
      • Submissions received after midnight, PT, July 18, 2021 will not be accepted.

Submission Instructions

      • Submit entries, with payment via the website registration form. Cost for each submission is $20.
      • If a technical issue should impede your registration, contact
      • Failure to comply with all submission instructions will automatically disqualify the submission.

The National Résumé Writers' Association
2331 Rock Spring Road, Forest Hill, MD 21050

Click here to join our mailing list!

Site Map

  flat_facebook32x32  flat_twitter32x32  flat_pinterest32x32  flat_linkedin32x32  Instagram

Member Services: 443.966.3851  or

This site uses cookies to enhance the user experience. Click HERE to review our Privacy and Security Policy.

Copyright ©  2021 The National Résumé Writers' Association
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software